Lisa Sonnenberg

Hi!  I’m Lisa Sonnenberg. My most recent endeavor was competing in Mrs. Illinois 2012! AND I won! Please take a moment to look at my Pageant Website to follow my journey to Mrs. America and to join me at an event or appearance!

I was born in Salt Lake City, UT and grew up in and around that area with two older brothers and older sister.  Everything they say about being the youngest is true with me.  I always want my way…even if it takes a little whining to get there .  I was a cheerleader all through high school as well as a student body officer.  Hey, in Utah it was cool to be on the student council.  I loved it!  I’ve always had a passion for health so after graduating from High School, I pursued a career in massage.  I graduated from Utah College of Massage Therapy in September of 1999 and then it was on to full time work.  I spent a couple of years in Utah doing massage and then decided to move to San Jose, CA with my soon to be husband.  He was playing basketball at San Jose State University and after just a few months we were engaged and a few months later, we were married.  Yep, no typos there.  It really was just a few months.  We’ve been married 10 years and blessed with 4 children.  My husband grew up in Wheaton, IL so we moved back to the area after he graduated and he’s been working as an executive in the front office of the Chicago Bulls for the past 8 years.  Lots of fun!

­I grew to love the gym while in High School but during my senior year, I struggled with orthorexia.  I learned that my excessive dieting and exercise was not the right approach.  Balance became my buzz word for life and I began to find balance at the gym and with my diet.  Additionally, I’ve battled with anxiety and regular exercise has not only helped me physically, but mentally as well.  I joined Team Motiv8nU in August of 2011 after several years aspiring to compete in a figure competition.  My sister competed in Utah 7 years ago and won in figure.  She’s an inspiration to me!  Today, in between juggling the schedules of 4 busy children between the ages of 1 and 7, I still find time for the gym and look forward to my first competition in November of 2011.

I have many interests and hobbies, but health and fitness is one of my top priorities, along with raising my 4 children full time and enjoying life with my husband.  I’ve always wanted to be a good role model to my children by taking care of my body in the right way.  My ultimate hobby and goal is to one day have my own interior decorating business.